Lakeside Assembly of God
Has A Rich Heritage
(94 Years of Steadfast, Faithful Service)
The Full Story
The original church, Sand Flat Tabernacle Assembly of God was set in order under The General Council of the Assemblies of God on December 31, 1928, at 7:30 p.m.
H.W. Kline was the Superintendent of the district at that time and was present to address the meeting and make it official. J.C. Skipper was elected without opposition as the first pastor in that same meeting. The deacons were ordained by the laying on of hands and prayer by Bro. Kline, Bro. Schaeffer and Bro. Skipper. Also elected were the secretary, treasurer and trustees.
According to the minutes of that meeting, the ordination service was very solemn, touching and impressive. Bro. Kline declared the Assembly to be legally and scripturally set in order. The meeting adjourned at midnight to be called together again by those privileged to do so and ended with a good spirit.
After being in the old church for 41 years, a new church was erected in 1969. Sand Flat Tabernacle Assembly of God changed its name to Lakeside Assembly of God on May 2, 1985 and is still in operation to this day.